MULTIPURPOSE HADRON TRANSPORT CODE


INTRODUCTION&HISTORY/&    SHORT WRITE-UP/     APPLICATIONS&REF/&
When using materials from the Web-page the reference to www.inr.ru/shield is obligatory.


Versions, physics models and architecture of the code

There are two versions of the SHIELD code. The common version, SHIELD, is dedicated to simulation of interaction of hadrons and arbitrary atomic nuclei with complex extended targets in energy range up to 1 TeV/A. The "medical" version, SHIELD-HIT (Heavy Ion Therapy), is designed for precision simulation of interaction of therapeutic beams of protons and ions with biological tissue.

Models of nuclear reactions which describe various stages of the inelastic hadron-nucleus and nucleus-nucleus interaction are identical in both versions. These models are developed at JINR (Dubna) and INR RAS (Moscow). The models are grouped together in the MSDM-generator (Multi Stage Dynamical Model) which allows to simulate a whole nuclear reaction in the exclusive approach.

Neutron transport below 14.5 MeV in both versions of SHIELD is simulated using the 28 group neutron data system ABBN [1].

Ionization losses of charged hadrons and nuclear fragments in the common version, SHIELD, are calculated according to the standard Bethe-Bloch equation. The "medical" version SHIELD-HIT includes various models and data for computation of mean ionization loss, fluctuations of the ionization loss and of the multiple Coulomb scattering.



  1. L.P.Abagyan, N.O.Bazazyants, M.N.Nikolaev, A.M.Tsibulya. Group Constants for Reactor and Shielding Calculations. Energoizdat, Moscow, 1981 (in Russian).
Contact person: Prof. Nikolai Sobolevsky, e-mail: sobolevs@inr.ru, . (495)850 42 61
WWW.INR.RU 2008© webmaster     Last updated 23.06.09
  Counter.CO.KZ

MULTIPURPOSE HADRON TRANSPORT CODE


УНИВЕРСАЛЬНЫЙ АДРОННЫЙ ТРАНСПОРТНЫЙ КОД

INTRODUCTION&HISTORY/ВВЕДЕНИЕ&ИСТОРИЯ    SHORT WRITE-UP/КРАТКОЕ ОПИСАНИЕ    APPLICATIONS&REF/ПРИЛОЖЕНИЯ&ССЫЛКИ
When using materials from the Web-page the reference to www.inr.ru/shield is obligatory.


Версии кода, физические модели и архитектура

Код SHIELD существует в двух версиях. Общая версия, SHIELD, предназначена для моделирования взаимодействия адронов и произвольных (A,Z)-ядер со сложными мишенями при энергиях до 1 ТэВ/А. "Медицинская" версия, SHIELD-HIT (Heavy Ion Therapy), предназначена для прецизионного моделирования взаимодействия терапевтических пучков протонов и ионов с биологической тканью.

Модели ядерных реакций, описывающие разные стадии неупругого адрон-ядерного и ядро-ядерного взаимодействия, идентичны в обеих версиях кода SHIELD и SHIELD-HIT. Эти модели разработаны в ОИЯИ (Дубна) и ИЯИ РАН (Москва). Модели объединены в MSDM-генератор (Multi Stage Dynamical Model), позволяющий моделировать ядерную реакцию в эксклюзивном подходе.

Перенос нейтронов с энергией ниже 14.5 МэВ обеих версиях кода моделируется на основе 28-ми групповой системы нейтронных констант БНАБ[1].

Ионизационные потери заряженных адронов и ядерных фрагментов в общей версии SHIELD вычисляются согласно стандартной теории Бете-Блоха. В "медицинскую" версию SHIELD-HIT включены разные модели и данные для расчета ионизационных потерь, их флуктуаций и многократного кулоновского рассеяния.



  1. Л.П.Абагян, Н.О.Базазянц, М.Н.Николаев, А.М.Цибуля. Групповые константы для расчета реакторов и защиты. Энергоиздат, Москва, 1981.
Contact person: Prof. Nikolai Sobolevsky, e-mail: sobolevs@inr.ru, тел. (495)850 42 61
WWW.INR.RU 2008© webmaster     Last updated 23.06.09
счетчик посещений Counter.CO.KZ